Michigan Drug Possession Lawyer | Drug Delivery Charges | Marijuana
Have you been charged with possession of marijuana or any other drugs? Did you know that even just the possession of marijuana is a misdemeanor in the state of Michigan and is punishable by up to 1 year in jail? Now that doesn’t mean someone goes to jail for possessing marijuana automatically, that is the max possible penalty only in certain cases where the judge believes that is what is necessary in order to fulfill their responsibility for sentencing somebody.
Here at The Law Offices of Barton Morris we are here to help our clients defend their drug possession charges. Whether you have been charged with marijuana, cocaine, heroin, or prescription drugs, contact our specialized drug defense attorneys that have the experience necessary and the knowledge to understand what it takes to help fight for your rights.
Best Drug Defense Attorney in Michigan
There is also a license sanction, even though the possession of marijuana may have nothing to do with the person’s driver’s licenses, the state of Michigan penalizes possession or marijuana with a driver license suspension of 6 months. Our license restoration attorneys understands what it takes to help get your license restored.
A judge does have the right to amendment it after the first 30 days, the judge can change it to a restricted license if there is a hardship demonstrated if it makes it difficult for the offender to get to work or take care of the family or go to school. Don’t take a chance one your own to restore your license. Contact us to help demonstrate your hardships of being without a license.
Possession of Marijuana
If you have been accused of possession of marijuana in Michigan, which includes hash oil, earwax, and edible THC, you will be faced with harsh criminal punishments which can include jail time and fines. Not to mention, if convicted you may be ineligible for student loans and grants, you may be barred from military service, many landlords will not rent to you, your driving privileges will be suspended, and most employers won’t hire you with a drug issue either.
Possession of a Controlled Substance without a Prescription
Prescription drugs, although considered a controlled substance, are not your typical street drugs. Even though certain controlled substances are safe and have legal and therapeutic uses, possessing them without a valid prescription can be a felony. If you are in possession of a prescription drug and don’t have a valid prescription in your own name to show a police officer, you may be charged with this crime.
Possession of a Controlled Substance with the Intent to Deliver
If you are charged with possession of a controlled substance with the intent to deliver, you will be facing a felony charge according to Michigan law. Drugs are classified as schedule 1 through 5, and depending on the classification and the amount found in your possession, the penalties vary.
Possession and Distribution of Controlled Substance Fentanyl
Fentanyl along with other ‘reconstituted’ prescription Schedule II controlled substances such as Vicodin and Oxycodone, are prosecuted harshly when being bought, sold and distributed illegally in Michigan. Most prosecutions and convictions are based upon the intent of the seller or user along with the amount that was used. A conviction for possession, use and distribution of illegal narcotics such as fentanyl carry heavy penalties.
Delivery of Cocaine Under 50 Grams
If you are charged with delivery of a controlled substance, such as cocaine, you will be facing a felony charge according to Michigan law. Cocaine is classified as a schedule 2 drug, and the penalties for delivery are severe. Common schedule II drugs are considered to have a high potential for abuse and include such drugs as: opium, cocaine, morphine, OxyContin, Adderall and hydrocodone.
Possession of Cocaine Between 50-450 Grams
According to Michigan law, possession with intent to deliver cocaine in an amount between 50-450 grams is a 20-year felony. You will need an experienced criminal defense attorney, like Barton Morris, fighting for you. In Michigan, the potential for abuse is a critical factor in determining which schedule a drug is placed in, and Cocaine is one of the most highly abused drugs out there.
A 7411 deferral allows a person who has no prior drug crimes on their record to plead guilty to a Drug Possession charge, and then have that “guilty” plea and charge dismissed after a certain period of time (called a probation). Once you satisfactorily complete the probation period your entire case will be dismissed and there will be no public record of it. The length and term of any probation period are decided by the Judge at your sentencing hearing; and, can range from non-reporting probation to monthly reporting probation with mandatory drug and alcohol testing.
Medical Marijuana Defenses
The Michigan Medical Marijuana Act (MMMA) was passed in 2008 and it allows for the medical use of marijuana in the state of Michigan. There are two categories of people who are legally permitted to handle medical marijuana under the MMMA. If you have been charged with a Marijuana related drug crime, you will need an experienced Michigan drug attorney to defend your case, such as Barton Morris.
Manufacturing of a Controlled Substance
The State or even the Federal government can charge a person for playing a part in the cultivation or manufacture of a drug. The term “manufacture” can include preparing, packaging, repackaging, labeling, relabeling or processing of an imitation controlled substance, either directly or indirectly. The term “cultivation” can include such things as planting cannabis seeds. Drugs are classified as schedule 1 through 5, and depending on the classification and the amount you manufactured, the penalties vary.