In addition to court-imposed penalties for DUI, the Michigan Department of State (aka the Secretary of State) imposes driver’s license sanctions. The driver’s license penalties vary depending on the alcohol offense and the driver’s history.
Some driver’s license penalties end automatically after a set period of time. Others require a hearing before the Secretary of State. The driver’s license suspension caused by a first offense DUI ends automatically whereas the driver’s license revocation caused by a second DUI or subsequent DUI offense (within seven-years) requires a hearing.
Interested in having your driver’s license restored? Request a free consultation now.
After a DUI, your license may be suspended or revoked. A first offense DUI will cause a 180-day suspension of your driver’s license. You may be eligible for a restricted license for all or part of that time, except for the first 30 days.
A first offense for driving under the influence (DUI) causes a 90-day suspension of your driver’s license, with a restricted license available for all or part of that time. A first offense for operating with a high blood alcohol content (also known as “super drunk”) results in a one-year suspension.
However, you may be eligible to drive after the first 45 days with a breath alcohol ignition interlock device.
Two DUIs within seven years of each other will cause your driver’s license to be revoked. However, a revocation is different from a suspension.
If your license is revoked, you will not be eligible for a restricted license, even for work purposes. However, you will be eligible for a hearing after a year.
But you don’t get your driver’s license back automatically after a year. Rather, you’re able to schedule a hearing with the Secretary of State. At your hearing, you must prove that:
Additionally, you must submit a current Substance Use Evaluation, 10-panel drug test with two integrity variables, three to six community letters and a Petitioner’s Affidavit.
As you can see, the requirements to get your driver’s license back after a second or subsequent DUI are much more demanding than after a first offense. You must present substantial proof of your sobriety and you also have to testify under oath at a hearing.
For these reasons, you should enlist help from an attorney who specializes in driver’s license restorations.
Interested in getting your driver’s license back? Request a free consultation now.
President of the Michigan Association of OWI Attorneys Lead Award-Winning Team