In Michigan, a DUI conviction (typically called Operating While Intoxicated [OWI]) stays on your criminal record and driving record forever. Having a DUI on your driving record adds points to your driver’s license, which will affect the pricing of your insurance policy. The more points you have, the higher your insurance rate is likely to be.
Additionally, having a DUI affects your driving privileges, especially if you have multiple DUI convictions on your driving record within a certain time frame. Additionally, when an individual receives a third DUI, it is charged as a felony – no matter how long ago the first and second DUIs were received. A third offense DUI carries multiple penalties, including mandatory jail time.
DUI is a Criminal Charge in Michigan, Not a Traffic Violation
While a DUI conviction is on your criminal record forever, the points received from DUI convictions only stay on your driving record for two (2) years. For example, if you were convicted of a DUI on Dec. 11th, 2019, the points would no longer appear on your driving record on Dec. 12th, 2021. A DUI conviction results in six (6) points on your driving record.
A lesser charge is Operating While Visibly Impaired (OWVI), which is often used as a plea bargain when someone is charged with a DUI. An OWVI conviction results in four (4) points on your driving record. Just like a DUI conviction, an OWVI conviction is on your Michigan criminal and driving record forever.
How Long Will My License be Suspended After a DUI?
DUI convictions greatly affect your driving privileges since convictions result in automatic suspensions, sometimes revocations. Automatic suspensions can range from 30 days to 1 year, depending on the details of your case and criminal history listed on your background check.
If you get two (2) DUI convictions within seven years, the Secretary of State (SOS) will revoke your license indefinitely. You must wait a year from your last DUI conviction to try to get your license back.
If you get three (3) or more DUI convictions within 10 years, the SOS will revoke your license indefinitely. You must wait at least five years from your last DUI conviction to try to get your license back.
Driver’s License Restoration Procedures
The restoration of your driving privileges is up to a hearing officer who makes his/her decision after viewing the documents you submit. This documents need to prove that you are sober and will stay sober.
There is no guarantee you will be granted a license. However, our team of experienced driver’s license restoration attorneys proudly boasts a 98% success rate in this area. Additionally, hearing officers will often issue a restricted license instead of a full license the first time a person appears before them.
Having a restricted license allows you to drive during certain times of the day to certain places. Typically, you may drive to work and Alcoholics Anonymous (AA) meetings, or substance abuse treatment. You will also be required to drive a vehicle with an interlock device and must do so successfully for 1 year. This must be done before appearing before a hearing officer again to try and receive full license.
DUI convictions can affect your insurance rates and driving privileges, which is why it is essential to hire an experienced criminal defense attorney who specializes in DUI defense. Contact our team today for a free consultation!
Sarah Tarockoff is the Paralegal at The Law Offices of Barton Morris. She earned a Paralegal Certificate from Oakland Community College in 2015 and graduated from Oakland University in 2013 with a Bachelor of Arts degree in Psychology and a concentration in criminal justice. She completed internships at the 52-3 District Court where she aided probation officers in the Probation Department and at Bernstein & Bernstein, where she worked closely with attorneys and paralegals on various litigation-related matters.