Unlawfully Carrying of a Concealed Weapon
Michigan Gun Crimes Attorneys Guiding You through the Legal Process
In Michigan, a person is allowed to carry a concealed weapon only if they first obtain a permit. If you have don’t have a permit, you can be charged with a felony.
To obtain a permit to carry a concealed weapon you must be at least 21 years old, a US citizen, a Michigan resident, and complete a firearms safety training course. Once you have a valid permit, you will be legally allowed to carry your concealed handgun in Michigan. However, not all states will honor your Michigan permit; you need to check with the Michigan State Attorney General’s website to verify where you can and cannot carry your gun.
If you don’t have a valid permit and are found carrying a concealed weapon, you will be facing a 5-year felony with fines up to $2,500. It is important to consult with an experienced gun crimes attorney in Michigan as soon as possible after your arrest.