In Michigan, carrying a concealed weapon is only allowed with a permit. If you have don’t have a permit, you can be charged with a felony.
To obtain a permit to carry a concealed weapon you must be at least 21 years old, a US citizen, a Michigan resident, and complete a firearms safety training course.
Once you have a valid permit, you’ll be legally allowed to carry your concealed handgun in Michigan.
However, not all states will honor your Michigan permit; you need to check with the Michigan State Attorney General’s website to verify where you can and cannot carry your gun.
If you don’t have a valid permit and are found carrying a concealed weapon, you’ll be facing a five-year felony with fines up to $2,500.
It ‘s important to consult with an experienced gun crimes attorney in Michigan as soon as possible after your arrest.
Charged with a gun crime? Unhappy with your current attorney? Request a free consultation now.