If you have been convicted of a DUI in the state of Michigan, you may be aware there are certain rights and privileges that will no longer be available to you. A DUI conviction can be difficult to navigate. You may be overwhelmed trying to understand the things you can no longer do. If you are in need of a DUI defense attorney, Michigan Criminal Attorney can help. We can help you navigate your rights as a felon and understand what rights and privileges you still have access to. If you have been convicted of a DUI in Michigan, it is important to know what rights you no longer have. In today’s post, we will go over some of the rights and privileges you lose when convicted of a DUI in Michigan. Read on to learn more and call us today if you need a criminal defense attorney in Michigan.
In many states, including the state of Michigan, you lose the right to vote when convicted of a felony. Some states bar anyone convicted of a felony from ever voting again. Fortunately, Michigan is not one of these states. In the state of Michigan, felons are only barred from voting while they are incarcerated. If you are no longer incarcerated, your right to vote has been restored. In Michigan, DUIs are charged as a misdemeanor but more serious or repeat offenders can be charged with a felony. If you are confused about your voting rights as a felon, it is a good idea to reach out to a DUI defense attorney to help you understand your rights.
Possessing a Firearm
In the state of Michigan and under federal law, people who are convicted of a felony are not permitted to possess a firearm. Under Michigan law, those convicted of felonies are also not permitted to conceal carry a weapon. In some instances, a person convicted of a felony may have their right to possess a firearm restored. Talk to a DUI defense lawyer if you are confused about your right to possess a firearm.
Serving on a Jury
Under current Michigan law, a person convicted of a felony may not serve on a jury at either the state or federal level. Jury duty is a civic duty. If you are confused about your right to serve on a jury, reach out to a DUI defense lawyer.
First DUI Offense
In most cases, a person’s first DUI offense will result in a misdemeanor. This is not true in all cases, however, so make sure to talk to a DUI defense attorney if you are confused about your rights & penalties. The following penalties are the maximum for first-time offenders.
- Possible vehicle immobilization
- Fine up to $500, plus costs
- Possible ignition interlock
- 6 points on driving record
- Up to 93 days in jail
- Up to 360hours of community service
- Driver’s license completely suspended for 30 days, followed by 150 days restricted
Navigating life after a DUI conviction can be confusing. If you have been convicted of a DUI in Michigan, a good DUI defense lawyer can help. Reach out to Michigan Criminal Attorney today.