Michigan Domestic Violence Attorneys
Focused on What’s Best for You and Your Family
Did you know that Michigan courts aggressively prosecute domestic violence cases, even if the domestic violence victim wants to drop the charges?
While this is done to ensure that dangerous individuals and/or habitual offenders are held accountable for their actions, it also means that if you are facing domestic violence charges, you should seek help from an experienced criminal defense lawyer familiar with how these cases are prosecuted.
Domestic Violence Penalties
Domestic Violence holds harsh penalties under Michigan law; two people do not need to be married for a domestic violence charge to take place. The penalties include:
- A misdemeanor punishable by up to 93 days in jail and a $500 fine with no prior assault convictions
- A felony punishable by up to two years in prison, a $2,500 fine, or both.
Testimony by the alleged victim(s) can be extremely persuasive to both a judge and a jury, whether it is truthful or not. If the alleged victim had injuries that required medical attention, the penalties can be even more severe.
Defense for Domestic Violence
At The Law Offices of Barton Morris, we believe everyone is innocent until proven guilty and that everyone deserves high-quality legal representation. The prosecutor must make their case beyond a reasonable doubt in order to win. A skilled domestic violence attorney can instinctively identify what the holes are in the prosecution, and what weaknesses are needed to overcome to get the best outcome for you and your family.
For example, are there witnesses to the alleged incident that can provide solid testimony? Or is it more of a “he said, she said” case, which would make it tougher for the prosecution to prove beyond a reasonable doubt?
Every marriage/relationship has its issues. That does not mean that ordinary issues should carry legal consequences.