Michigan Felony Possession of a Firearm Lawyers
Relentlessly Fighting on Behalf of Clients throughout Royal Oak
Pursuant to Michigan State and federal laws, it is against the law for a felon to be in possession of a firearm. For state law purposes, a felony is defined as an offense that is punishable by up to four years in prison. Unless the offense is a specified felony, the law forbids possession within three years after the conviction. If the felony involves drugs, firearms, or explosives, the time period is five years.
Federal law forbids possession of a firearm by persons convicted of an offense that carries one or more years in jail.
In order to prove possession of a firearm by a prohibited person, the prosecution must prove:
- You possessed or received a firearm or ammunition
- You have a felony conviction on your record or you are awaiting trial for a felony charge
In Michigan, MCL 750.224(f) refers to the crime of a felon being in possession of a firearm. In Michigan, when a convicted felon distributes, receives, ships, carries, purchases, sells, transports, uses, or possesses a firearm, they will be charged under this law. If convicted, you will be facing a 5-year felony and a fine of up to $5,000.
If you are convicted of a state or federal gun crime you will be facing very stiff penalties. You need an experienced gun crime attorney in Michigan on your side.
At The Law Offices of Barton Morris, our Michigan felony possession of a firearm attorneys have over 20 years of experience in this practice area. As a result, we are intimately familiar with the related procedures, paperwork, and laws. We can proficiently guide you throughout every stage of the process while helping you make sound legal decisions. You can trust us for all your criminal defense needs.