Failure to Stop and Identify at the Scene of a Personal Injury Accident is commonly called Hit and Run. It is a 6 point offense that carries a 90 day License Suspension, as well as other consequences, but I can typically negotiate lesser penalties. Further penalties apply if serious bodily impairment or death occurs as a result of the accident, at which point it becomes a Felony offense.
In Michigan, drivers involved in an accident have several requirements they must fulfill under state law.
If you know, or have reason to believe you’ve been in an accident with an individual or another vehicle, you must:
- Give your name, address, and the registration number of the vehicle you are operating, including the name and address of the owner (if you don’t own it yourself) to a police officer, the individual struck, or the driver or occupants of the other vehicle involved,
- Show your operator’s or chauffer’s license to a police officer, the individual struck, or the driver or occupants of the other vehicle,
- Render reasonable assistance to anyone injured in the accident in securing medical aid, or arrange for or provide transportation to any injured individual (basically, call 911)
Penalties for this vary according to the kind of damages or injuries that occur. In the case of Personal Injury damage, you must stop your vehicle at the scene unless doing so would cause further harm, call the police, wait for them to arrive, and satisfy the requirements Section 619 places on you.
If you fail to do so, and the accident results in personal injury to another individual, driver, or passenger, you are considered guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for up to a year, and/or a fine up to $1,000. Additionally, your license will be suspended for 90 days, and 6 points will be removed. M.C.L.A. 257.617a
If the accident causes serious bodily injury or a death, and you fail to Stop and Identify, you are considered guilty of a felony punishable by up to 5 years imprisonment, and/or a fine up to $5,000. Additionally, your license will be revoked/denied, and have 6 points added. M.C.L.A. 257.617 (2)
If you are found to have CAUSED the accident, and the accident results in the death of another, and you fail to Stop and Identify, you are considered guilty of a felony punishable by up to 15 years imprisonment and/or up to $10,000 in fines. Your license will be revoked/denied, and have 6 points added. M.C.L.A. 257.617 (3)
If you have been charged with a Hit and Run, or any other criminal Traffic violation in the Oakland, Wayne or Macomb County communities of Royal Oak, Bloomfield Hills, Detroit, Warren, Troy or any surrounding area and want the best defense, call Michigan Criminal Attorney Barton Morris at (248) 541-2600. Barton Morris was recently voted Top Attorney in Metro Detroit for 2012 and 2013 in the area of criminal defense.