In Michigan, a person is allowed to carry a concealed weapon only if they first obtain a permit. If you have don’t have a permit, you can be charged with a felony.
To obtain a permit to carry a concealed weapon you must be at least 21 years old, a US citizen, a Michigan resident and complete a firearms safety training course. Once you have a valid permit, you will be legally allowed to carry your concealed handgun in Michigan. However, not all states will honor your Michigan permit, you need to check with the Michigan State Attorney General’s website to verify where you can and cannot carry your gun.
If you don’t have a valid permit and are found carrying a concealed weapon, you will be facing a 5-year felony with fines up to $2,500.00. It is important to consult with an experienced attorney as soon as possible after your arrest.
If you have been charged with unlawfully carrying a concealed weapon in the Oakland, Wayne or Macomb County communities of Royal Oak, Bloomfield Hills, Detroit, Warren, Troy or any surrounding area and want the best defense, call Michigan Criminal Attorney Barton Morris at (248) 541-2600. Barton Morris was recently voted Top Attorney in Metro Detroit for 2012 and 2013 in the practice of Criminal Defense.
For more information on Michigan gun laws, visit NRA-ILA.