Best Gun and Firearm Defense Lawyer in Michigan
Did you know that there are different manners that gun cases are charged or that just being in possession of certain types of weapons is a federal offense, including being in possession of a full automatic weapon or in in possession of a weapon with a silencer? Contact The Law Offices Barton Morris to help you understand all gun charges and your rights when it comes to firearm laws.
In order to fight these cases, it’s important that the criminal defense attorney understands these weapons and understands the that types of evidence that is necessary to demonstrate proof. Our attorneys at the Law Offices of Barton Morris are gun possession specialists that have the knowledge to find the evidence necessary and defend your weapons charges.
Second Amendment Rights
Other offense regarding guns include specific individual that are not allowed to carry weapons, that includes people that are felons, or have been charged with a misdemeanor such as domestic violence. So, under these circumstances again, it must be proven that these individual knew that they were carrying a weapon. The Law Office of Barton Morris can help defend your case when it comes to gun possession.
There is also the armed career criminal acts that prohibits an individual carrying a weapon that has a prior conviction for either aggravated controlled substance offense or offense of violent nature. Contact our lawyers that specialize in gun possession laws today to help you understand gun laws and your rights.
The offense of Felony Firearm means that a person is accused of carrying or possessing a firearm when committing or attempting to commit a felony. It is a separate and additional felony charge and conviction. For example, pointing a gun at a person who is placed in fear of being shot is called a felonious assault. That is a felony. A second felony of felony firearm is being committed by being in possession of the gun.
Unlawfully Carrying a Concealed Weapon
In Michigan, a person is allowed to carry a concealed weapon only if they first obtain a permit. If you have don’t have a permit, you can be charged with a felony. To obtain a permit to carry a concealed weapon you must be at least 21 years old, a US citizen, a Michigan resident and complete a firearms safety training course. Once you have a valid permit, you will be legally allowed to carry your concealed handgun in Michigan.
Unlawful Possession of a Firearm
Michigan takes its gun laws very serious and any violation has a risk of carrying severe fines and penalties. MCL 750.234(d) specifically makes it illegal to possess a firearm on certain premises, such as banks, churches, courts, theaters, and hospitals. If convicted of possessing a firearm in one of these areas, you will be faced with a misdemeanor and possibly 90 days in jails with $100.00 in fines.
Felon in Possession of a Firearm
Pursuant to State of Michigan and Federal laws, it is against the law for a felon to be in possession of a firearm. For State law purposes, a felony is defined as an offense that is punishable by up to four years in prison. Unless the offense is a specified felony, the law forbids possession within three years after the conviction. If the felony involves drugs, firearms or explosives the time period is five years.
Possession of a Firearm Under the Influence of Alcohol or Drugs
A permit and license to carrying a concealed weapon is a privilege that many citizens of Michigan have received and valued. Many believe it should be a right to carry a concealed pistol similar to the Constitutional Second Amendment “right of the people to keep and bear Arms for the defense of himself and state”. Although the constitution does not expressly permit those Arms to be concealed, there is certainly a strong faction that supports gun rights in our country.